SEE: THE LOUVRE OF THE FUTURE

During my first two years in Paris, I got around the city solely with the help of a classic Paris Pratique Par Arrondissement book. A collection of street maps whose tattered pages fit perfectly into my bag, I loved being able to find my way without relying on a Smartphone to give me the answer. I liked the novelty of using a paper map, and I liked having to work at navigating the winding streets. It made me feel like I was in on a secret that no one else knew – how great it is to be free from technology.

Then, on one fateful afternoon last fall, I found myself with a new phone plan and a brand new Blackberry to match (in my defense, I chose a Blackberry because it was my cheapest option, coming in at a whopping 10 Euro). Of course, that was also the last time I opened up my Paris Pratique to find my way. Since then it’s been sitting on my bookshelf, collecting dust while subtly mocking me, whispering the words “sell out” in the night.

I’ve never been all that interested in technology; I understand the usefulness of having the world at your fingertips, but I think too many people forget that with every gain there is also a loss. In exchange for storing novel after novel on a single hand-held device, you lose the charm of turning a page, feeling the fiber between your fingers, smelling that old-book smell. What can compare to that?

The rise of technology is continuously influencing the way we live, the way we think, the way we see the world. So how will technology affect art? How will we experience it in the future? French photographer, Leo Caillard, is just as curious about what’s in store for us, and for our art, and it’s this curiosity that inspired his Art Games series.

From canvases turning into Ipad screens, to sculptures getting a taste for technology, it’s a collection that’s as entertaining as it thought provoking. As he explains,

This recent work is a reflection on the problem of our new digital world. Currently, at any stage of creation, an idea or concept is digitally adapted. What will be retained in the future? What will happen to all of these billion of megabytes we stock on the computers? In 10 years? In 500 years? Colliding the esthetic of modern minimalist Apple products with the classical architecture of the Louvre Museum, the viewer is forced to assess the question of new creation in our modern society.

I don’t know about you, but I hope the Louvre never comes to this fate. Talk about reducing masterpieces to megabytes. Maybe it’s time I return to the classics as well and open up my Paris Pratique once again…

P.S. Don’t miss Caillard’s new series of Miami’s iconic lifeguard houses either! 

2 responses to “SEE: THE LOUVRE OF THE FUTURE

  1. Pingback: LÉO CAILLARD: Art Games « ashleyfrick.com·

Leave a Reply

