TASTE: LIFE IN MÉDOC

When I stumbled upon Mimi Thorisson’s blog Manger a few months ago, ça a été le coup de foudre. Between the delectable recipes, the gorgeous photography, and the charm of her beautiful family, I love visiting her “traditional” food blog. Having lived in Paris for many years, Mimi and her husband decided to make the move out to Médoc to raise their 6 children (and 14 dogs!) and live a life “au naturel,” connected to the rich landscape. I mean just look at these photos from a recent Sunday afternoon lunch. It’s like a modern day Renoir scene.

It’s probably one of those “grass is always greener” things, but I think what draws me in most is how wonderful a life back in the country sounds. Growing up in New Hampshire, I told my parents time and time again that once I moved to the city (I think I was dreaming of NYC back then), I would never want to leave. Five years in, and I’m beginning to hear my Dad’s voice humbly saying, “just wait, you’ll see, you’ll be back.”

Don’t get me wrong, I love how exciting it is to live in a city, and I’m not ready to give up the cosmopolitan life just yet. But the older I get, the more I realize how great the country is, and how nice of a childhood I had because of it. You feel the seasons, you buy produce from local farms, life is simpler – its nice. Seeing as I’m still a city girl though, living vicariously through Manger will have to do for now.

Speaking of the seasons, however, glorious fall – my favorite season -is right around the corner! The foliage here doesn’t begin to compare to back home in New England where the forests are ablaze in red, yellow, and orange for a few months, but at least the autumn produce is the same. Apples, squash, and pumpkins are just coming into season now, so I’ll be trying out Mimi’s Pumpkin Gnocchi with Saint-Nectaire sauce very soon. My mouth is watering already!

Photography by Oddur Thorisson via Manger

Leave a Reply

